"I want to be the female version of Dio"

The album "666" is not only the debut of the promising newcomers Cobra Spell, but also opens the door to the world of the 80s in a sonic way. Singer Kristina Vega explains what fascinates her and the band about the past decade, talks about her love of Ronnie James Dio and shares her thoughts on the subject of satisfaction.

Amanda Dizdarevic

AMANDA DIZDAREVIC

8. Jan 2024

Cobra Spell
Kristina Vega
Cobra Spell, Kristina Vega

If you had to summarise the essence and character of your debut album "666" in one word, what would it be?

Kris: Rebellion. With "666" we wanted to express nothing less than pure rebellion and at the same time touch on the different facets of the 80s and pay tribute to them.

Where does the fascination for the 80s come from?

Kris: From Sonia (note: Sonia Anubis, guitarist). She is our main composer and has an unwavering love for the 80s. Her passion and extensive knowledge of the decade is unrivalled - you could almost call her a walking encyclopaedia (laughs). She skilfully weaves this devotion into our music, especially through her unique and dynamic riffs; the sonic impulses therefore largely come from her.

Do you share Sonia's passion?

Kris: Absolutely! For example, while Sonia is passionate about the music, interiors and style of those years, my heart beats for video games. I'm a huge fan of retro games like Super Mario, Donkey Kong and Rygar and of consoles like Sega and Super Nintendo. The 80s are the origin of everything I love today, including my big musical influences like Freddie Mercury (note: late Queen singer) and Ronnie James Dio (note: Dio, Rainbow, Black Sabbath, among others).

The metal and rock of the 80s was often characterised by devil symbolism, which is also strongly represented in "666" and can be interpreted in different ways. What does this symbolism mean to you?

Kris: At that time, the devil was often linked to female identity. It was a kind of reflex: a woman did something "weird" and the devil was said to be inside her. Much of what was associated with women in the past was seen as cursed. We women often do things that are too controversial for many people, and it was no different back then. That's why we wanted to make a clear statement with "666"; especially the song "The Devil Inside Of Me" describes this situation very vividly. In this song, a woman is portrayed as being possessed by the devil just because of her love for metal. I believe that many of us have had similar experiences.

Have you too?

Kris: Of course. When I was 16, I listened to a lot of Satyricon (note: black metal band from Norway). Their music fascinated me, but their lyrics were pretty dark and anything but Christian. It was incomprehensible to those around me, especially my parents, that I listened to such music and also dressed completely in black. They all asked me what was wrong with me. I just thought to myself: What do you all want from me? I'm still the same person!

Is that where your need for rebellion comes from?

Kris: As a teenager, you often feel the urge to express yourself in one way - and that was just my way. I'm sure dozens of women were or are like me. That's mainly because a lot of people used to be convinced - and some still are - that metal was only for men.

Cobra Spell

Cobra Spell

Cobra Spell is an all female metal band from Spain. The glam metal band released their debut album 666 in 2023.

Members

Sonia Anubis - Guitars, Synthesizers Noelle dos Anjos - Guitars Kristina Vega - Lead Vocals Hale Naphta - Drums Roxy Herrera - Bass

facebook.com

However, bands like Cobra Spell show us that this is not the case.

Kris: That's right! However, that was also something I really missed growing up: a female role model in metal. I already had two very strong male idols in Freddie and Dio. Dio was like a metal dad to me; I admire him deeply. But I lacked a female counterpart to him. And that's exactly what I'm striving for now: I want to become the female version of Dio and perhaps also an inspiration for girls and women.

It's not my intention to copy Dio, but his singing has influenced and inspired me a lot. I used to ask myself: if it's possible for a man to produce such powerful sounds, why shouldn't I be able to do the same? If men like Dio, Freddie, Corey Taylor (note: Slipknot singer) or Chester Bennington (note: late Linkin Park singer) can sing like that, then I can do it just as well. At the end of the day, they don't use anything that isn't available to me. Sure, I'm not them. Nevertheless, I recognise some similarities in their singing: this roughness, a powerful belting and lots of low notes. Sometimes I even have the feeling that my voice sounds quite masculine (laughs).

You presented us with "S.E.X." as the first taster of your debut album. Is there a particular reason why you released this song first?

Kris: "S.E.X." cries out for attention. We wanted to use this song to emphasise what satisfaction means to each of us - especially with the accompanying music video. I found the inspiration for my part in a certain film, the name of which I have unfortunately forgotten. There was a scene in the film where a woman is surrounded by lots of naked men. The thought of finding myself in such a situation - not with men, but with women - fascinated me.

The fact that you realised this idea for your part in the video suggests that you see women as a source of satisfaction.

Kris: Exactly. As I mentioned earlier, this song reflects what brings us all joy and makes us feel good - in my case, it's women. I find the aura and energy that we radiate to be unique and magical. For me as a bisexual person, it was a wonderful experience to be surrounded by so many wonderful women.

What criteria did the others use to design their scenes?

Kris: Roxy (note: Roxana Herrera, bass player) has a special love for her bass and therefore just wanted to play her instrument and be surrounded by dancing women. Sonia has opted for a car, which represents her personal satisfaction. Noelle (note: Noelle dos Anjos, guitarist) is more romantically inclined and so you see her in a sweet white dress on a red couch, surrounded by lots of tea lights and rose petals. Hale (note: Hale Naphtha, drummer), on the other hand, loves fire. It gives her adrenaline and joy, which is why she sets everything on fire in her scene.

Compared to the energetic "S.E.X.", you show a calmer side in "Fly Away" - what can you tell me about this song?

Kris: "Fly Away" was written by Sonia. She dedicated it to a relative she never met. It therefore expresses the feeling of longing for someone you've never really met. In "666", however, we address a variety of different topics. Sometimes we show our poetic side, sometimes we write a song ("Warrior From Hell") about a guitar - more precisely, about Sonia's guitar (laughs). For example, "You're A Cheater" is again about something completely different, namely one of my ex-boyfriends.

Does this person know that this song was dedicated to them?

Kris: Not yet (laughs)!

Cobra Spell, Kristina Vega

Kristina Vega

Kristina Vega is the singer of bands such as Cobra Spell, SerapiS and Born in Exile. The Spaniard is also a metal vocal coach.

Spain

Nationality

Spain

Residence

NaN. undefined NaN

Birthday

What's next on the agenda for you?

Kris: A lot of things. For example, we're already in the middle of working on our next album.

Can you already give us a little insight?

Kris: I'm so excited about our new project that I'd love to reveal all the details already, but I have to hold back a little (laughs). However, I can already give you a little hint: We're going in an exciting, more modern direction with the next work.

But the spirit of the 80s remains, doesn't it?

Kris: Definitely! As with many other artists, we also attach great importance to further development, but we remain one hundred per cent true to our 80s style. For those who like "666", the upcoming record should certainly be very interesting.

Sign up for our Newsletter to stay updated on all things

Follow us on Instagram

„Ich möchte die weibliche Version von Dio werden“

Das Album „666" ist nicht nur der Einstand der vielversprechenden Newcomer Cobra Spell, sondern stößt zugleich auf klangliche Weise ein Tor in die Welt der 80er-Jahre auf. Sängerin Kristina Vega erklärt, was die Band und sie an dem vergangenen Jahrzehnt fasziniert, spricht über ihre Liebe zu Ronnie James Dio und teilt ihre Gedanken zum Thema Befriedigung.

Amanda Dizdarevic

AMANDA DIZDAREVIC

8. Jan. 2024

Interview
Cobra Spell
Kristina Vega
Cobra Spell, Kristina Vega

Wenn du die Essenz und den Charakter eures Debütalbums „666“ in einem Wort zusammenfassen müsstest, welches würde das sein? 

Kris: Rebellion. Mit „666“ wollten wir nichts Geringeres als pure Rebellion ausdrücken und gleichzeitig die verschiedenen Facetten der 80er berühren und ihnen Tribut zollen.

Woher kommt die Faszination für die 80er? 

Kris: Von Sonia (Anm.: Sonia Anubis, Gitarristin). Sie ist unsere Hauptkomponistin und hegt eine unerschütterliche Liebe für die 80er. Ihre Leidenschaft und ihr umfassendes Wissen über dieses Jahrzehnt sind unvergleichlich – man könnte sie fast als wandelndes Lexikon bezeichnen (lacht). Sie webt gekonnt diese Hingabe in unsere Musik ein, vor allem durch ihre einzigartigen und dynamischen Riffs; die klanglichen Impulse stammen somit größtenteils von ihr.

Teilst du Sonias Passion?

Kris: Absolut! Während Sonia beispielsweise für die Musik, das Interieur und den Stil jener Jahre schwärmt, schlägt mein Herz für die Videospiele. Ich bin ein Riesenfan von Retro-Games wie Super Mario, Donkey Kong und Rygar und von Konsolen wie Sega und Super Nintendo. Die 80er bilden den Ursprung all dessen, was ich heute liebe, einschließlich meiner großen musikalischen Einflüsse wie Freddie Mercury (Anm.: verstorbener Queen-Sänger) und Ronnie James Dio (Anm.: u.a. Dio, Rainbow, Black Sabbath).

Der Metal und Rock der 80er-Jahre war oft von einer Teufelssymbolik geprägt, die auch in „666“ stark vertreten ist und unterschiedlich interpretiert werden kann. Was bedeutet diese Symbolik für euch?

Kris: In dieser Zeit wurde der Teufel oft mit der weiblichen Identität verknüpft. Es war eine Art Reflex: Eine Frau tat etwas „Komisches“, und schon hieß es, der Teufel sei in ihr. Vieles von dem, was in der Vergangenheit mit Frauen in Verbindung stand, wurde als verflucht angesehen. Wir Frauen tun oft Dinge, die für viele Leute zu kontrovers sind, und das war damals nicht anders. Aus diesem Grund wollten wir mit „666“ ein klares Statement setzen; besonders der Song „The Devil Inside Of Me“ beschreibt diese Situation sehr anschaulich. In diesem Lied wird eine Frau nur wegen ihrer Liebe zu Metal als vom Teufel besessen dargestellt. Ich glaube, dass viele von uns ähnliche Erfahrungen gemacht haben. 

Du auch? 

Kris: Na klar. Als ich 16 war, hörte ich viel Satyricon (Anm.: Black Metal-Band aus Norwegen). Ihre Musik faszinierte mich, aber ihre Texte waren ziemlich düster und alles andere als christlich. Für mein Umfeld, vor allem meine Eltern, war es unverständlich, dass ich solche Musik hörte und mich dazu noch komplett in Schwarz kleidete. Sie haben mich alle gefragt, was mit mir los sei. Ich dachte mir nur: Was wollt ihr alle von mir? Ich bin doch nach wie vor dieselbe Person!

Rührt dein Bedürfnis nach Rebellion daher?

Kris: Als Teenager fühlt man oft den Drang, sich auf eine Weise auszudrücken – und das war einfach meine Art. So wie mir ging bzw. geht es mit Sicherheit dutzenden Frauen. Das liegt vor allem daran, dass viele Leute früher davon überzeugt waren – und es zum Teil immer noch sind –, dass Metal nur etwas für Männer sei.

Cobra Spell

Cobra Spell

Cobra Spell ist eine All Female Metal Band aus Spanien. Die Glam-Metal-Band hat 2023 ihr Debutalbum 666 veröffentlicht.

Mitglieder

Sonia Anubis - Guitars, Synthesizers Noelle dos Anjos - Guitars Kristina Vega - Lead Vocals Hale Naphta - Drums Roxy Herrera - Bass

facebook.com

Bands wie Cobra Spell zeigen uns jedoch, dass dies nicht der Fall ist. 

Kris: So ist es! Allerdings war das auch etwas, das ich während meiner Kindheit sehr vermisst habe: ein weibliches Vorbild im Metal. Mit Freddie und Dio hatte ich bereits zwei sehr starke männliche Idole. Dio war für mich wie ein Metal-Papa; ich bewundere ihn zutiefst. Es fehlte mir aber eine weibliche Gegenfigur zu ihm. Und das ist genau das, was ich jetzt anstrebe: Ich möchte die weibliche Version von Dio werden und damit vielleicht auch eine Inspiration für Mädchen und Frauen. 

Es ist nicht meine Absicht, Dio zu kopieren, aber sein Gesang hat mich sehr beeinflusst und inspiriert. Früher habe ich mich immer gefragt: Wenn es einem Mann möglich ist, derart kraftvolle Töne zu erzeugen, warum sollte es mir dann nicht ebenso gelingen? Wenn Männer wie Dio, Freddie, Corey Taylor (Anm.: Slipknot-Sänger) oder Chester Bennington (Anm.: verstorbener Linkin Park-Sänger) so singen können, dann kann ich das genauso gut. Letztendlich nutzen sie dafür nichts, was mir nicht auch zur Verfügung steht. Klar, ich bin nicht sie. Trotzdem erkenne ich einige Gemeinsamkeiten im Gesang: diese Rauheit, ein kraftvolles Belting und viele tiefe Töne. Manchmal habe ich sogar das Gefühl, dass meine Stimme ziemlich männlich klingt (lacht).

Als ersten Vorgeschmack auf euer Debütalbum habt ihr uns „S.E.X.“ präsentiert. Gibt es einen besonderen Grund, warum ihr gerade diesen Song als erstes veröffentlicht habt?  

Kris: „S.E.X.“ schreit nach Aufmerksamkeit. Wir wollten durch dieses Stück verdeutlichen, was Befriedigung für jeden von uns bedeutet – vor allem mit dem dazugehörigen Musikvideo. Die Inspiration für meinen Part fand ich in einem bestimmten Film, dessen Namen ich leider vergessen habe. In diesem gab es eine Szene, in der eine Frau von vielen nackten Männern umgeben ist. Der Gedanke, mich selbst in einer solchen Situation wiederzufinden – nicht mit Männern, sondern mit Frauen – hat mich fasziniert.

Die Tatsache, dass du diese Idee für deinen Teil im Video umgesetzt hast, lässt darauf schließen, dass du Frauen als eine Quelle der Befriedigung siehst. 

Kris: Ganz genau. Wie vorhin erwähnt, spiegelt dieses Lied wider, was uns allen Freude bereitet und uns gut fühlen lässt – in meinem Fall sind das eben Frauen. Die Aura und Energie, die wir ausstrahlen, empfinde ich als einzigartig und magisch. Für mich als bisexuelle Person war es eine schöne Erfahrung, von so vielen wundervollen Frauen umgeben zu sein.

Nach welchen Kriterien haben die anderen ihre Szenen gestaltet?

Kris: Roxy (Anm.: Roxana Herrera, Bassistin) hegt eine besondere Liebe zu ihrem Bass und wollte daher einfach nur ihr Instrument spielen und von tanzenden Frauen umgeben sein. Sonia hat sich für ein Auto entschieden, was für ihre persönliche Befriedigung steht. Noelle (Anm.: Noelle dos Anjos, Gitarristin) ist eher romantisch veranlagt und demnach sieht man sie in einem süßen weißen Kleid auf einer roten Couch, umgeben von vielen Teelichtern und Rosenblättern. Hale (Anm.: Hale Naphtha, Schlagzeugerin) hingegen liebt das Feuer. Es gibt ihr Adrenalin und Freude, weshalb sie in ihrer Szene alles in Brand setzt.

Im Vergleich zum energiegeladenen „S.E.X.“ zeigt ihr euch in „Fly Away“ von einer ruhigeren Seite – was kannst du mir über diesen Song erzählen? 

Kris: „Fly Away“ stammt von Sonia. Sie hat es einem Verwandten gewidmet, den sie nie kennengelernt hat. Es drückt daher das Gefühl der Sehnsucht nach jemandem aus, dem man nie wirklich begegnet ist. In „666“ adressieren wir allerdings eine Vielzahl verschiedener Themen. Mal zeigen wir uns von unserer poetischen Seite, mal schreiben wir einen Song („Warrior From Hell“) über eine Gitarre – genauer gesagt, über Sonias Gitarre (lacht). So handelt beispielsweise „You’re A Cheater“ wieder von etwas ganz anderem, nämlich einem meiner Ex-Freunde.

Weiß diese Person, dass ihr dieser Song gewidmet wurde?

Kris: Noch nicht (lacht)!

Cobra Spell, Kristina Vega

Kristina Vega

Kristina Vega ist Sängerin von Bands wie Cobra Spell, SerapiS und Born in Exile. Die Spanierin ist zudem Metal Vocal Coach.

Spanien

Nationalität

Spanien

Lebensmittelpunkt

NaN. undefined NaN

Geburtstag

Was steht für euch als nächstes auf dem Plan?

Kris: Vieles. Wir stecken beispielsweise schon mitten in den Arbeiten an unserem nächsten Album. 

Kannst du uns schon einen kleinen Einblick geben?

Kris: Ich bin so aufgeregt über unser neues Projekt, dass ich am liebsten schon alle Details verraten würde, aber ich muss mich noch ein wenig zurückhalten (lacht). Einen kleinen Hinweis kann ich euch allerdings schon geben: Mit dem nächsten Werk schlagen wir eine aufregende, modernere Richtung ein. 

Aber der Geist der 80er-Jahre bleibt, oder?

Kris: Auf jeden Fall! Ähnlich wie bei vielen anderen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern legen auch wir großen Wert auf Weiterentwicklung, doch wir bleiben hundertprozentig unserem 80er-Stil treu. Für diejenigen, die „666“ mögen, dürfte die kommende Platte mit Sicherheit äußerst interessant sein.

Bleibe mit unserem Newsletter auf dem Laufenden

Folge uns auf Instagram